Hymn to St. Teresa (Full score) (download)


Deeply powerful and moving, this shining work honors prominent Spanish mystic St. Teresa of Avila, who stated: “prayer is an act of love, words are not needed.”


SKU: JH- B005 Category:



For concert band



St. Teresa of Avila (1515-1582) was a prominent Spanish mystic, Roman Catholic Saint, Carmelite nun, and author. The English translation of her poem “Where All Are Welcome” served as inspiration for me when composing amass: my oratorio for choir, soloists, and mixed chamber ensemble (premiered in February 2011). Its message is timeless, and truly embodies my personal beliefs. This poem, translated by Daniel Ladinsky and published in his book Love Poems From God, struck me so deeply that it replaced the traditional credo in my mass. More than anything, this poem states what I truly believe. Hymn to St. Teresa is a reimagining of the “Sanctus” and “Benedictus” from amass, two works originally composed for a cappella mixed choir. It seemed fitting to honor her, and the original inspiration for amass, in this new piece.


Where All Are Welcome


Why this great war between the countries – the countries –

inside of us?


What are all these insane borders we protect?

What are all these different names for the same church of love

we kneel in together?  For it is true, together we live; and only

at that shrine where all are welcome will God sing

loud enough to be heard.


~St. Teresa of Avila

translated by Daniel Ladinsky, Love Poems From God, Penguin Books, 2002.


To read more about amass, and hear the original “Sanctus” and “Benedictus” for a cappella mixed choir, visit https://www.graphitepublishing.com/product/amass-full-score/.


Level: 4





Flute 1 & 2

Oboe 1

Oboe 2/English Horn

Bassoon 1 & 2

Clarinet in Bb 1, 2, & 3

Bass Clarinet

Soprano Saxophone

Alto Saxophone

Tenor Saxophone

Baritone Saxophone

Trumpet in Bb 1, 2, & 3

Horn in F 1, 2, 3, & 4

Trombone 1 & 2

Bass Trombone



Double Bass (or Contrabassoon)

Percussion 1 (chimes, suspended cymbal, windchimes)

Percussion 2 (marimba, triangle)

Percussion 3 (vibraphone)

Percussion 4 (glockenspiel, crotales)

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Hymn to St. Teresa (Full score) (download)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to My Newsletter

Join my mailing list to receive the latest news and updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest